21 IORA Countries adopt Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy

Oct 5, 2018 12:00 IST
21 IORA Countries adopt Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy

Post the second IORA Renewable Energy Ministerial Meeting, 21 countries of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) on September 4, 2018 adopted the Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region.

The Ministerial Meeting was held during the 2nd Global Re-Invest India-ISA Partnership Renewable Energy Investor’s Meet and Expo in Greater Noida.

Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy

The Delhi Declaration on Renewable Energy in the Indian Ocean Region calls for collaboration among IORA member states in meeting the growing demand for renewable energy in the Indian Ocean littorals.

It calls for the development of a common renewable energy agenda for the Indian Ocean region and promote regional capacity building.

The declaration also calls for promotion of technology development and transfer, strengthening of public private partnerships in renewable energy and collaboration among IORA member states and the member nations of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).

As per the declaration, IORA member nations will collaborate with the ISA member nations to exchange knowledge and share views in the renewable energy sector.

This collaboration was paved by the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between IORA and ISA on October 3, 2018 with a focus on joint capacity-building programs, research & development activities in solar energy and exchange of best practices.

IORA member countries also resolved to collaborate with the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA).

IORA member nations and IRENA will undertake the expansion of the Global Renewable Energy Atlas, the world’s largest-ever joint renewable resource data project, coordinated by IRENA.

This will create Indian Ocean Region's first and most comprehensive map and database which can then be used to tap the sizable renewable energy potential of the region.

IORA and IRENA will collaborate on opportunities available under the International Renewable Energy Learning Platform (IRELP).

Indian Ocean Rim Association

The Indian Ocean Rim Association was set up with the objective of strengthening regional cooperation and sustainable development within the Indian Ocean Region with 21 Member States and 7 Dialogue Partners.

India, Australia, Iran IR, Indonesia Thailand, Malaysia, South Africa, Mozambique, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Bangladesh, Singapore, Mauritius, Madagascar, UAE, Yemen, Seychelles, Somalia, Comoros and Oman are members of IORA.

The last Renewable Energy Ministerial Meeting was held on January 21, 2014 in Abu Dhabi, UAE. During the meeting of IORA Council of Ministers held in October 2016 in Bali, Indonesia, it was decided that the next conference will be held in India.


Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week


Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK