Booker Prize 2019: Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo share the award

Booker Prize 2019: Margaret Atwood received the award for her novel 'The Handmaid's Tale' and Bernardine Evaristo won Booker Prize for her novel 'Girl, Women, Other.

Oct 15, 2019 17:12 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Booker Prize 2019: The winners of the prestigious Booker Prize 2019 have been announced. This year Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo have jointly awarded 2019 Booker Prize. This award has been given jointly to two people for the first time in nearly 30 years.

Both the winners will share prize money of 50,000 British Pounds for their novels. Total six books were shortlisted for the award and Salman Rushdie's tragicomic 'Quichotte' was one of them. Bernardine Evaristo became the first black woman to win this prize.

Booker Prize 2019

• Margaret Atwood received the award for her novel 'The Handmaid's Tale' and Bernardine Evaristo won Booker Prize for her novel 'Girl, Women, Other.'
• She has become the first black woman and the first black British writer to win the Booker Prize.
• Canada’s Margaret Atwood has become oldest (79) to win Booker Prize.
• Margaret Atwood had won her first Booker Prize in 2000 for ‘The Blind Assassin.’
• She is the second women author to win the Booker Award twice and fourth overall writer.

Also Read | Nobel Prize 2019 for Economics: Who is Abhijit Banerjee?

About Novel Handmaid’s Tale

It is one of the most famous novels of Margaret Atwood. The story revolves around the chilling dystopia of Gilead, a patriarchal state in which women have no rights. Novel’s story follows a handmaid, one of Gilead’s few remaining fertile women who are forced into sexual servitude in a desperate attempt to repopulate the climate-ravaged world.

Changed Rules of Booker Prize

The Booker Prize committee changed rules in 1992 and started declaring joint winners. Earlier, the Booker Prize rules were insisting on not to divide the prize. However, judges found that they could not separate Atwood's - 'The Testament' and 'Girl, Woman, Other' by Evaristo.

Salman Rushdie’s 'Quichotte'

The Mumbai-born novelist Salman Rushdie was shortlisted for the fifth time for his works. The judging panel said about 'Quichotte' that it is a picaresque tour-de-force of contemporary America, with all its alarms and craziness. Salman Rushdie won Booker Prize for “Midnight’s Children” in 1981.

Also Read | Vice President Venkaiah Naidu receives highest civilian award of Comoros

Also Read | Nun Mariam Thresia receives title of 'Saint' 93 years after her death

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए