Govind Mishra received Saraswati Samman 2013 for novel Dhool Paudhon Par

The renowned Hindi author Govind Mishra was conferred the Saraswati Samman for his novel Dhool Paudhon Par that was published in 2008.

Created On: Sep 24, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: Sep 25, 2014 14:17 IST

Govind MishraGovind Mishra, the renowned Hindi author was given the Saraswati Samman in New Delhi on 23 September 2014. He was given the Samman by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh for his novel Dhool Paudhon Par that was published in 2008.

Govind Mishra is the second Hindi author to be conferred with this honour after Harivansh Rai Bachchan in 1991 for his autobiography in four volumes in Hindi.

About novel Dhoop Paudhon Par

The novel illustrates the struggle of modern Indian women and carries an artistic blend of reality and romance. It is a novel that can be read both for the realistic portrayal of the plight of Indian women in modern times and for a love story also.

About Govind Mishra

• Mishra was born on 1 August 1939 in Atarra of Banda, Uttar Pradesh
• He completed his BA and MA (English) at the University of Allahabad
• In 1962, he was selected for the Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax) where he attained the post of Chairman, Central Board of direct taxes and retired from his office in 1997
• Post retirement, he dedicated himself solely for the literary pursuits in Bhopal

Published works of Mishra includes
• 11 novels
• 14 short story collections that contains 100 stories
• Five travelogues
• Five collections of literary essays
• One poem collection
• 2 story books for children

His first novel was Wo Apna Chehra and was published in 1969 and the much talked novel was Lal Peeli Zameen published in 1976.

Govind Mishra is a recipient of several awards that includes
• Vyas Samman (1998)
• Sahitya Akademi Award (2008)
• Bharat-Bharti Samman (2011)

About Saraswati Samman
Saraswati Samman is an annual award that is given in recognition of outstanding prose or poetry literary works in Indian languages that are listed in Schedule VIII of the constitution of India. This Samman is given for the literary works of last 10 years. The award was established in 1991 by K. K. Birla Foundation and carries a prize amount of 10 lakh rupees along with a certificate.

The KK Birla Foundation has instituted three awards in the field of literature. These are Saraswati Samman, Vyas Samman (for Hindi) and Bihari Puraskar (for Hindi and Rajasthani writers of Rajasthan).

On 2 August 2013 the Saraswati Samman 2012 was given to Sugathakumari, the Malayalam poetess for Manalezhuthu (the Writings on the Sand), a collection of poems in Malayalam.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 9 =