Htin Kyaw took oath as Myanmar's first elected President

Mar 30, 2016 12:45 IST

Htin Kyaw was sworn-in President of Myanmar on 30 March 2016 at a joint session of parliament in the capital Nay Pyi Taw.

With this, Aung San Suu Kyi's close aide Kyaw also became the first elected civilian leader to be the President of the country after 53 years of military rule. Army took power in a 1962 coup.

Htin Kyaw, 69, from the National League for Democracy (NLD) took over from Thein Sein, who introduced wide-ranging reforms during his five years in power.

Although, NLD leader Aung San Suu Kyi is barred from the Presidency, she said that she will rule by proxy. The handover completes the transition that began after the NLD won a landslide win in elections in November 2015.

Kyaw was elected as the president of the country by the Myanmar's Parliament on 15 March 2016. Others to sworn-in included Vice-presidents Henry Van Thio and Myint Swe, who lost to Kyaw in the presidential vote on 15 March 2016. They were also sworn in, as were new cabinet ministers. Suu Kyi will be in charge of foreign affairs, the president's office, education, and energy and electric power.

Besides, the military also appointed its own nominees for three key ministries namely defence, home affairs and border affairs.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes13 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK