India to be re-elected as non-permanent member of UNSC

India is the sole candidate for the non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term.

Created On: Jun 3, 2020 15:32 ISTModified On: Jun 3, 2020 16:58 IST
India's non-permanent seat at UNSC

India is set to be re-elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council during the elections in June 2020. India is assured to win from the Asia Pacific seat, as it will be the sole contender. 

India’s candidature for the Asia Pacific seat in the non-permanent category was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia Pacific grouping including Pakistan and China in 2019. India’s name for non-permanent UNSC seat was proposed by the Asia Pacific countries for a two-year period, from 2021-2022.

UNSC Elections

The UNSC elections to elect the five non-permanent members of the 15-member Security Council for the 2021-22 term will be held on June 17. The dates were announced on June 1, 2020 as France took over the Presidency of the 15-nation Council for the month of June.

India is the sole candidate for the non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific seat for the 2021-22 term.

Canada, Ireland and Norway will contest elections for the two seats in the Western Europe and Other countries category.

Mexico is the sole candidate from the Latin America and Caribbean seat.

Kenya and Djibouti will be contesting for one non-permanent seat of the African group of countries.

India has been elected as the non-permanent member of UNSC several times previously, 1950 - 1951, 1967 - 1968, 1972 - 1973, 1977 - 1978, 1984 - 1985, 1991- 1992. Its most recent term was from 2011- 2012.

The UN General Assembly had decided last week to conduct the UNSC ections under new voting arrangements, taking into account restrictions imposed due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

How are UNSC elections conducted?

The UNSC elections are held in the UN General Assembly hall with each of the 193 UN member states casting their votes in a secret ballot.


India has since long been demanding reforms in the UN Security Council, saying that it deserves a permanent seat at the Council. 

About UNSC

•  The UNSC currently has just five permanent veto-welding members including the United States, United Kingdom, Russia, China and France. 

•  The council also has 10 non-permanent members and every year the UN General Assembly elects five non-permanent members for a two-year term.

•  The 10 non-permanent seats are divided on regional basis-

-Five seats for African and Asian States

-Two seats for the Latin American and the Caribbean States

-Two seats for Western European and other States

-One seat for the Eastern European States.

•  Earlier this month, five nations including Vietnam, Niger, Estonia, Tunisia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines were elected to the UNSC for a two-year term beginning January 2020. St. Vincent and the Grenadines is the smallest-ever nation to secure a UNSC seat.

•  Currently, the 10 non-permanent members in the UNSC include Germany,  Belgium, Cote d'Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, South Africa,  Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru and Poland.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 6 =