Indian Rupee to be a legal tender in Zimbabwe

Jan 30, 2014 15:20 IST

The Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe (RBZ) announced Indian rupee as a legal tender on 29 January 2014.
RBZ was adding Indian Rupee and three other Asian currencies to the basket of currencies to be circulated in the country. These include China, Japan and Australia.

The public can now open accounts in Chinese Yuans, Australian Dollars, Indian Rupees and Japanese Yens.

Till now, Zimbabwe accepted the US dollar and the South African rand as the main legal tender, which helped the country to stabilize the economy after world-record inflation threw it into a tailspin.

image In addition to the Botswana Pula, British Sterling Pound, Euro, South African Rand and United States Dollar, the central bank also added the Australian Dollar (AUD), Chinese Yuan (CYN), Indian Rupee (INR) and Japanese Yen.

The addition of four Asian currencies to the international currencies stands to nine which are circulating in the country.

Zimbabwe abandoned the use of its own currency in 2009 after world record inflation levels precipitated an economic collapse under the Zanu PF government. It was a coalition government in 2009 that introduced the multi-currency system that brought stability in Zimbabwe.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes277 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Zimbabwe , Indian Rupee , Asian currencies

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK