Jai Ram Thakur to be sworn in as 14th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Dec 26, 2017 11:09 IST
Jai Ram Thakur to be sworn-in as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Five-time BJP MLA Jai Ram Thakur was named as the 14th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh along with being elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party in the state. He will be sworn in at the historic Ridge Ground in Shimla on 27 December 2017.

His swearing in ceremony will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah along with Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states. The 52-year-old BJP leader edged past party veterans in the race to the top post and he will be the first leader from the politically-significant Mandi region to lead the hill state. Mandi has 10 Assembly seats, second only to Kangra's 15.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister-designate Jairam Thakur said that he will do his best to come up to expectations of people in the state. Union minister Narendra Singh Tomar and Defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman were appointed as central observers by the BJP.

CA eBook

About Jai Ram Thakur

• He was elected as CM of Himachal Pradesh and BJP legislative party leader on 24 December 2017 after the defeat of the party’s main chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal in the November assembly elections.

• Even though Dhumal was still in the run for the chief minister's post, he chose to opt out.

• Thakur has been an MLA in Himachal Pradesh Assembly since 1998 and previously served as Cabinet Minister in the BJP Government of Himachal Pradesh.

• He served as the Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj from 2007-2012.

• He won his first election in the year of 1998 from the now delimited constituency of Chachiot (Seraj).

• He is elected to the current Himachal Pradesh Assembly from Seraj in Mandi.

The recent assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh saw the Bharatiya Janta Party oust the ruling Congress from power by winning close to a two-thirds majority with 44 seats in the 68-member assembly. The Congress won 21 seats, independents won two and the Communist Party of India-Marxist won one seat.

BJP wins Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Elections 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK