Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council abolished; reduced to Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh

J&K Legislative Council abolished under Section 57 of the J&K Reorganisation Bill, 2019. The Jammu & Kashmir state has now been reduced to 2 Union Territories - J&K and Ladakh.



Oct 18, 2019 13:25 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council got abolished on October 18, 2019 under Section 57 of the J&K Reorganisation Bill, 2019. With this, the J&K state has now been reduced to two Union Territories - Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh. J&K and Ladakh will now be UTs from November 1, 2019. The J&K Reorganisation Bill, 2019 was passed by the Parliament in August 2019.

The staff members of the J&K Council need to report to the General Administration Department (GAD) by October 22, 2019. On the other hand, the Council Secretary has been asked to transfer all records regarding the Council Secretariat to the Department of Law under the Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

The Legislative Council comprises 36 employees. The number of working employees in the Council has been the same since 1957 when the first Constituent Assembly came into being. The 36-member Legislative Council functioned as Upper House for 87-member J&K Legislative Assembly.

The Jammu & Kashmir Council has passed some landmark Bills such as resettlement Bill, land to tiller law and autonomy resolution. The Council members have often discussed issues like Delhi agreement of 1952 and 1975 Delhi-Srinagar accord. The Council also used to be a part of the Electoral College for the Rajya Sabha elections.

Dissolution of &K Legislative Council: All Changes & Transfers

- With the dissolution of Council, the tenure of current 22 Members of Legislative Council (MLCs) has come to an end.

- Vehicles used by the Council Members are being transferred to the State Motor Garages.

- On the other hand, the building of the Council, its furniture and electronic gadgets will go to the Director of Estates.

- Council Secretary needs to transfer records regarding the Council Secretariat to the Department of Law.

- J&K Governor will be replaced by the Lieutenant-Governors (LGs) of the two union territories.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए