Karnataka assembly speaker Ramesh Kumar resigns

Ramesh Kumar was holding post of the Assembly Speaker for second time. In his first term as Speaker he was in the chair from 1994-1999.

Created On: Jul 29, 2019 17:45 ISTModified On: Jul 30, 2019 15:55 IST
KR Ramesh Kumar

K R Ramesh Kumar, the Karnataka assembly speaker, announced his resignation on July 29, 2019. He announced resignation after the assembly adopted the confidence motion moved by chief minister B S Yediyurappa and passed the Appropriation Bill.

Before handing over his resignation letter to the Deputy Speaker Krishna Reddy, he said, “I have decided to relieve myself from this office...I have decided to resign.”

Ramesh Kumar was holding the post of the Assembly Speaker for the second time. In his first term as Speaker, he was in the chair from 1994-1999. He has been an important personality in Karnataka politics since year 1978.

About K R Ramesh Kumar

•    K R Ramesh Kumar started his political journey with congress in 1978 when he won his first Karnataka legislative assembly election.
•    In 1985, he stood on Janta Party’s ticket and won. Later in 1999 he fought elections as an independent candidate but lost the assembly seat.
•    In 2004, he joined INC again; fought against GK Venkata Shiva and won.
•    Ramesh Kumar won 2013 assembly elections on INC ticket and won the election.
•    In 2018 also, he fought on Congress party’s ticket and registered a win against G. K. Venkata Shiva Reddy of JD(S).
•    It was the ninth time when Ramesh Kumar and Venkata Shiva Reddy had contested against each other.

Also Read | B S Yeddyurappa wins floor test, Speaker Ramesh Kumar Resigns

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 3 =