1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Karnataka won Irani Cup for the fifth time

Feb 13, 2014 15:35 IST

Karnataka won the Irani Cup for the fifth time beating Rest of India in the final held at Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on 12 February 2014. Karnataka beat Rest of India by an innings and 222 runs to win the trophy.


In response to Karnataka's score of 606 in the first innings, Rest of India scored 201 in the first innings and 183 in the second.
Shreyas Gopal five wickets haul including a hat-trick and Skipper's Vinay Kumar four wickets haul helped Karnataka comprehensively win the game.

The victory made Karnataka the first Ranji Trophy champion in the last eight seasons to win the Irani Cup, a measure of the side’s dominance this season. Also Vinay Kumar became the third Karnataka captain to win both the Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup in a same year.

Karnataka last won the Irani Cup in 1998 at the same venue under Venkatesh Prasad.

Man of the Match: R. Vinay Kumar

About Irani Cup

The Irani Cup (earlier called Irani Trophy) tournament was conceived during the 1959-60 season to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy championship.

It was named after the late Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970.

The fixture is always played between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.

Quick Digest

Who: Karnataka

Where: Chinnaswamy Stadium , Bangalore

What: Irani Trophy

When: 12 February 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes63 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Karnataka , Irani Trophy , Rest of India

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK