Kerala government decided to ban 'electronic cigarettes'

Jul 4, 2016 09:00 IST

e-Cigarette Kerala government on 1 June 2016 banned 'electronic cigarette'. It was banned in view of studies claiming that its use can cause various health issues, including cancer and heart ailments.

In this regard, the health ministry directed the additional chief secretary (health) to issue an order banning the production, sale and advertisement of 'electronic cigarette' alias 'e-cigarette'.

With this, Kerala became the fourth Indian state to ban e-cigarettes. The other three states are Punjab (1st state to do so), Maharashtra and Karnataka.

Earlier in 2014, an expert committee appointed by the union government to study the ill effects of e-cigarette had recommended banning the device in the country. 


• They are handy electronic devices that emit doses of flavored liquid, which the user inhales.

• The fluid in the e-cigarette, called e-liquid, is usually made of nicotine, propylene glycol, glycerine, and flavorings.

• Non-smokers who use e-cigarettes risk addiction to nicotine.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: Ectronic cigarettes

What: Banned in Kerala

When: 1 July 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes
Read more Current Affairs on: Kerala government , ban on e-cigarettes , e-cigarettes ,

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK