LSE announces Amartya Sen Chair; Santosh Trophy 2019 – Current Affairs

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has announced the creation of the Amartya Sen Chair in Inequality Studies.

Created On: Apr 23, 2019 10:35 ISTModified On: Apr 23, 2019 10:48 IST
Amartya Sen

Story 1: Amartya Sen Chair announced by London School of Economics

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has announced the creation of the Amartya Sen Chair in Inequality Studies, named in honour of the India-born economist, philosopher and Nobel laureate, who was Professor of Economics at LSE from 1971-82.

The public announcement of the chair was made during LSE’s biannual Amartya Sen Lecture. The lecture, 'Foundations of State Effectiveness', was delivered by Professor Sir Tim Besley with Professor Sen serving as discussant and LSE Director Minouche Shafik chairing.

The inauguration of the Amartya Sen Chair marks a further milestone for the International Inequalities Institute (III), following the 2016 launch of the Atlantic Fellows for Social and Economic Equity programme, backed by a historic 64 million pounds, 20-year gift by The Atlantic Philanthropies, the School’s largest to date.

Major Highlights

  • The holder of the Amartya Sen Chair in Inequality Studies will also serve as Director of the International Inequalities Institute (III), LSE’s flagship initiative focused on studying and challenging one of the most pressing issues of our time.
  • LSE Director Minouche Shafik said that International Inequalities Institute is a living embodiment of the School’s enduring commitment to working for the betterment of society through research, education and public engagement.
  • In naming this chair after Amartya Sen, LSE recognise one of the world’s great thinkers on social equity.
  • LSE look forward to appointing an outstanding person to lead the work of the Institute as it continues to deliver sustainable and meaningful benefits to people and global communities.

About Amartya Sen

  • Amartya Sen is Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, at Harvard University and was until 2004 the Master of Trinity College, Cambridge.
  • Amartya Sen’s books have been translated into more than thirty languages, and include Choice of Techniques (1960), Growth Economics (1970), Collective Choice and Social Welfare (1970), On Economic Inequality (1973, 1997); Poverty and Famines (1981);  Utilitarianism and Beyond (jointly with Bernard Williams, 1982); Choice, Welfare and Measurement (1982),  Commodities and Capabilities (1985) etc.
  • Amartya Sen’s awards include Bharat Ratna (India); Commandeur de la Legion d'Honneur (France); the National Humanities Medal (USA); Ordem do Merito Cientifico (Brazil); Honorary  Companion of Honour (UK); the Aztec Eagle (Mexico); the Edinburgh Medal (UK); the George Marshall Award (USA); the Eisenhower Medal (USA); and the Nobel Prize in Economics (1998).

Story 2: Services win Santosh Trophy-2019 title

The Services team emerged as winner of the 2019 Santosh Trophy. Services secured the title with Bikash Thapa's 61st-minute strike that decided the contest. Services beat Punjab the last time these two teams met in the final of this tournament, securing the trophy in 2014-15 with a 5-4 shootout victory.

On their way to finals, Punjab had defeated Goa 2-1 and Services had defeated Karnataka 4-3 in the semis via a penalty shootout. This is the sixth time Services has won the Santosh Trophy, finishing runner-up on five of the 11 occasions it has reached the final.

About Santosh Trophy

  • Santosh Trophy is an Indian football tournament in which the states of the country along with some government institutions participate. This is held annually since 1941. Bengal was the first winner of the competition held in 1941. The trophy is named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, now in Bangladesh.
  • The Santosh Trophy was started in 1941 after the then president of the Indian Football Association, West Bengal's football association, Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, donated the trophy.
  • The first edition of the Santosh Trophy was held in Delhi and won by Bengal who defeated the hosts 5-1 in the final. Last season it was held in Jammu and Kashmir and won by Punjab who defeated Services 1-0 in the final.
  • Bengal has won the competition a record 29 times and has been finished runner up 11 times, which is also a record.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 0 =