Mohun Bagan beats Aizawl FC 5-0 to lift 14th Federation Cup title

May 23, 2016 13:13 IST

MohunBaganMohun Bagan on 21 May 2016 clinched the Federation Cup title for the 14th time. In the final played at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati, Bagan defated Aizwal FC 5-0.

Bagan won this tournament after a gap of 8 years (in 2008), when it defeated Dempo 1-0.

The first half of the match went goalless. In the second half, Mizo striker Jeje Lalpekhlua netted two goals, while the other three goals were scored by Sony Norde, Dhanachandra Singh and Bikramjit Singh.

In the quarterfinals, the Aizwal FC defeated the I-League champions Bengaluru FC. In semi-finals, it defeated Sporting Clube de Goa to book its place in the final for the first time.

Federation Cup

The Federation Cup is an annual knockout style club football tournament in India. It has started in 1977. Presently it is the most important club tournament after the I-League, to which it has become a de facto League Cup.

The winning club of the Federation Cup gets a chance to compete in the continental level in AFC Cup.

2015 Federation Cup was won by Bengaluru FC.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Mohun Bagan , 14th Fed Cup title , Federation Cup , Football

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK