Moon Jae-in sworn in as President of South Korea

May 10, 2017 12:44 IST

Moon Jae-in sworn in as President of South KoreaLiberal politician Moon Jae-in on 10 May 2017 was sworn in as South Korea's President in a ceremony at the National Assembly Seoul.

Moon won South Korea's presidential election in a victory that ends nearly a decade of conservative rule.

The liberal’s victory will end months of political turmoil that led to parliament's impeachment of conservative former President Park Geun-hye over an extensive corruption scandal, which a court upheld in March 2017. With this, Park became the first democratically elected leader in South Korea to be removed from office.

Official results showed that Moon achieved a decisive victory with the highest turnout in 20 years despite drizzly weather in South Korea. He won 41.1% of the votes compared with 24% for conservative candidate Hong Joon-pyo and 21.4% for centrist candidate Ahn Cheol-soo.

CA eBook

About Moon Jae-in

Born on 24 January 1953, Moon Jae-in is the 12th and current President of South Korea.

He is also a former human rights attorney.

He was also former chief-of-staff to the late President Roh Moo-hyun.

He served as the opposition leader of the Minjoo Party of Korea from 2015 to 2016.

Prior to that, he was the Democratic United Party's candidate for the 2012 presidential election.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: South Korea , Moon Jae-in , President of South Korea , Park Geun-hye

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK