Mumbai won Ranji Trophy for the 41st time

Feb 27, 2016 08:07 IST

Mumbai on 26 February 2016 won the Ranji Trophy with an innings and 21 run victory over Saurashtra. It won the trophy for the first time in three seasons.

With this, they have 41 titles in 45 finals with 10 of them being an innings victory. Karnataka stands second in the overall Ranji standings with eight titles.

It was a repeat of the 2012-13 final where Mumbai had made short work of Saurashtra with an innings and 125-run victory.
Mumbai made 371 runs in 82.2 overs in their first innings and in reply Saurashtra managed 235 and 115 runs in first and second innings respectively.

Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur shackled opposition batting in the second innings and claimed five wickets for 26 runs in 13.2 overs to took his match tally to eight.

Shreyas Iyer was named man of the match for his 117 runs in Mumbai's only innings of the match. He ended the season as the leading run-getter with 1321 runs at 73.38 including four centuries and seven fifties.

In 2015, the trophy was Karnataka which was their eighth title. In the final, Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: Mumbai

What: won the Ranji Trophy

When: 26 February 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes13 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Mumbai , Ranji Trophy , Karnataka , Tamil Nadu

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK