N. Srinivasan Re-Elected As the BCCI President for the Third Term

N. Srinivasan was on 29 September 2013 re-elected as the President of BCCI for a third term at its 84th annual general meeting (AGM) held at Chennai.

Created On: Sep 30, 2013 13:14 IST

Narayanaswamy SrinivasanNarayanaswamy Srinivasan was on 29 September 2013 re-elected as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for a third term at its 84th annual general meeting (AGM) held at Chennai. He was unanimously re-elected as the president of BCCI for the term of 2013-14. Other office bearers were also elected on the same day.

Others who were elected at the 84th annual general meeting (AGM) included Sanjay Patel (honorary secretary), Anurag Thakur (joint secretary), Anirudh Chaudhry (hon treasurer), S P Bansal (vice-president - north zone): Rajeev Shukla (vice-president - central zone) Shivlal Yadav (vice-president - south zone), Ravi Savant (vice-president - west zone) and Chitrak Mitra (vice-president - east zone).

However, N. Srinivasan will not assume charge of the office immediately because of the directive of the Supreme Court of India. Other office bearers will assume the charge of the office with an immediate effect.

N. Srinivasan had taken over as the 30th BCCI President in September 2011. The election of the BCCI President is done on the rotational system where each region of the south, east, west and north holds the Chair of the President for three years time period. The Southern Region had its chance of choosing the President this time, according to the rotational system.


The Supreme Court of India had allowed the Annual General Meeting to be held but directed that in case N. Srinivasan was elected as the BCCI President, he should be restrained from taking charge of the office. The direction of the Apex Court came as a result of the petition by the Secretary of the Cricket Association of Bihar (CAB), which had sought to restrain N. Srinivasan from getting re-elected as the BCCI President. The final verdict on this case will come on 30 September 2013.

CAB in turn had pleased the Supreme Court to not allow N. Srinivasan from contesting for the post of BCCI President because his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan, the team principal of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings, was charge-sheeted for betting in sixth edition of IPL Twenty20 tournament. It is important to note that CAB is not recognised by the BCCI. The owner of Chennai Super Kings is India Cements and N. Srinivasan is also the vice-chairman of CSK.
It is important to note that N. Srinivasan stepped down from the post on 2 June 2013, while Jagmohan Dalmiya of the Cricket Association of Bengal took charge of the BCCI’s everyday affairs. Despite stepping down, N. Srinivasan remained the signing authority at the BCCI.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 1 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all