Port Blair Magnetic Observatory inaugurated to monitor seismic activities

Mar 31, 2015 16:00 IST

The Union Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences Dr. Harsh Vardhan on 30 March 2015 inaugurated Port Blair Magnetic Observatory (PBMO) at Shoal Bay No. 8 in Port Blair, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The observatory has been set up by the Indian Institute of Geomagnetism (IIG) under the Multi-Parametric Geophysical Observatories (MPGO) initiated by the Union Ministry of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.

So far, a network of 14 MPGO, including the PBMO, has been set up across the country by the IIG to monitor seismic and co-seismic signals by using multi techniques.

The first MPGO was set up at Guttu in Uttarakhand.

About IIG

The IIG is a leading institute of the country actively engaged in basic and applied research in Geomagnetism and allied areas of Geophysics, Atmospheric and Space Physics and Plasma Physics.

It started out as a successor to the Colaba Magnetic Observatory where the first regular magnetic observatory in the country was established in 1841 and became autonomous in 1971.

The IIG is located in Mumbai.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes79 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK