Ram Nath Kovind elected as 14th President of India

NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind crossed the winning margin to become the 14th President of India by beating opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

Created On: Jul 20, 2017 16:40 ISTModified On: Jul 21, 2017 09:57 IST

Ram Nath Kovind becomes   14th President of India=NDA Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind on 20 July 2017 won the Presidential elections. With this, he becomes the 14th President (in person) of India. He won the presidential election by defeating the opposition candidate Meira Kumari by 1086 votes.

In an electoral college, Ram Nath Kovind secured 2930 votes valued 702044, while, Meira Kumari managed to get only 1844 votes valued 367340.

The victory of Ram Nath Kovind was announced by Lok Sabha Secretary General and Returning officer Anoop Mishra.

The counting of the votes for the Presidential election was done at the Parliament House complex.  The results were declared after 8-round counting of the votes.

President elect Ram Nath Kovind will be administered oath of office by Chief Justice of India on 25 July 2017 in a special function at the Central hall of Parliament.


The Presidential Election was held on 17 July 2017 and around 99 per cent voting was recorded. Out of 771 Members of Parliament of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, 768 had cast their votes. Out of 4100 MLAs in state Assemblies, 4075 exercised their franchise. The term of the present incumbent, Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on the 25 July 2017.

Dalit Face of NDA government as Presidential candidate

About 14th President Ram Nath Kovind

• At the time of his nomination as the Presidential candidate, Ram Nath Kovind was serving Bihar as its Governor.

• Born on October 1, 1945 at Parokh village in Kanpur, Ramnath Kovind was born in the house of farmer’s family. His father’s name was Maccullal Corey.

• He completed his education in the village but keenly felt the lack of proper educational facilities.

• Lack of educational facilities in his village determined him to work for the spread of education into India's rural heartland. The Jhalkari Bai Inter College in his native village stands testimony to his tireless efforts

• He pursued his LLB from Kanpur University and after completion of the course, Ramnath decided to go to Delhi in 1971 to practice law. His legal career also saw him serve as standing counsel of the Central Government for several years.

• In his public and political life Kovind was known for his honesty.

• He became a Rajya Sabha member in 1994 and was appointed the National Spokesperson of the BJP.

• In 1997, he became a member of the party's National Executive and represented the country in the UN General Assembly in 2002.

• On 8 August 2015, Kovind became the governor of Bihar, a responsibility that earned him a lot of respect for his efficiency.

Race to Raisina Hill ends today, as counting begins

About Opposition Candidate Meira Kumari

• Meira Kumari, the daughter of former deputy Prime Minister, freedom fighter and social crusader Babu Jagjivan Ram, was the first woman speaker in Lok Sabha. She is also the second Dalit leader to become Speaker after GMC Balyogi.

• She is a five time Member of Parliament from her father's karm bhoomi Sasaram.

• Born in Patna in 1945, Meira Kumar is a lawyer by training.

• She joined the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) in 1973. As an IFS officer, she served in the UK and Spain.

• She made her foray in active politics in the mid eighties taking on her father’s legacy. In 1985, Meira Kumar took on Mayawati and Ram Vilas Paswan in Uttar Pradesh defeating them. She never looked back thereafter.

• She has been a member of the Congress working committee as well as General Secretary of the Party.

• She has also been the Union social justice and empowerment minister as well as water resources Minister.

• She has been chancellor of Bihar Central University and has penned several poems that have been published. She is also a keen horse rider and rifle shooter.

Some important facts related to Presidential elections-

Value of Vote of an MLA = State Population / (1000 X Total no. of elected MLA's)

On the basis of the above formula, the value of the vote of an MLA from UP has the highest value and that from Sikkim the lowest.

Value of Vote of an MP = Total value of votes of MLA's of all States / Total no. of elected MP's (LS + RS)
The 1971 census is currently under consideration.

The election is held through the system of proportional representation by means of the single - transferable vote by secret ballot.

The candidate who gets more than 50 percent of votes is considered elected.

Supreme Court looks into all disputes related to the Presidential election.

Dr Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, was the only President who served two tenures in the office.

VV Giri is the only person who was elected as the President of the country as an independent candidate in 1969.

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was the only person to be elected to the office of President of India unopposed, as no other candidate filed nomination for the post of the President. He was elected to the office of President in July 1977.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 3 =