Roger Federer wins ATP Indian Wells Masters title

Mar 21, 2017 09:25 IST

Roger Federer on 19 March 2017 won the ATP Indian Wells Masters title. This was his record fifth BNP Paribas Open crown. In the finals at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, Federer defeated Stan Wawrinka 6-4, 7-5.


Roger Federer wins ATP Indian Wells Masters title

With this triumph in the all-Swiss final, Federer joined Novak Djokovic as the only man to win five Indian Wells titles.

He had earlier won this title consecutively three times between 2004 and 2006 and in 2012. This victory at Indian Wells marks Federer’s 90th tour-level crown. This was also his 25th ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title.

At 35, Federer is the oldest ATP player to win one of the elite Master's titles, supplanting Andre Agassi who was 34 when he won in Cincinnati in 2004.

Earlier in January 2016, Federer won the Australian Open title. This was his first title after returning back from the knee surgery that kept him out of the game for some six months. The Australian Open was his 18th Grand Slam title.

Indian wells (BNP Paribas Open)

The BNP Paribas Open, the first of nine ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments, showcases the best men's and women's players at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The event routinely sets the bar for tennis tournaments across the globe and has been voted the best tournament in its category many times throughout the years.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK