Sevilla beat Liverpool 3-1 to win third straight Europa League title

May 22, 2016 12:00 IST

Spanish’s oldest football club Sevilla on 19 May 2016 won the 2016 UEFA Europa League title. To win the title, it defeated Liverpool Football Club (FC) 3-1 in the final match held at St. Jakob-Park in Basel, Switzerland.

With this win, Sevilla became the first team to win the Europa League three times in succession. Earlier, the team won the titles in 2015 and 2014 by defeating Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk and Benfica respectively.

Sevilla holds the record for the most victories, having won the competition five times since its inception. Apart from the consecutive titles since 2014, the other titles were won by the team in 2006 and 2007.

About UEFA Europa League title

• The UEFA Europa League, formerly the UEFA Cup, is an association football competition.

• It was established in 1971 by the Union of European Football (UEFA).

• It is considered the second most important international competition for European clubs, after the UEFA Champions League.

• Clubs qualify for the Europa League based on their performance in national leagues and cup competitions.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: 2016 Europa League title

Where: Basel , Switzerland

What: Won by Sevilla

When: 19 May 2016

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sevilla , Liverpool , third straight win , Europa League title

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK