Swamy Goud elected as Chairman of Telangana Legislative Council

Swamy Goud, TRS party, was elected as chairman of the Telangana Legislative Council.

Jul 3, 2014 18:48 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Swamy Goud of Telangana Rashtriya Samiti party was elected as Chairman of the 40-member Telangana Legislative Council (LC) on 2 July 2014. Goud was polled 21 votes against zero votes polled for Farooq Hussain, congress candidate who contested for the chairman of Legistlative council of Telangana.

About Legislative Council
Legislative Council (also called Vidhan Parishad) is the upper house of the state.

 Article 168 of the Constitution: The Legislative Council of a State shall be constituted. Article 171 of the Indian Constitution provides that the total number of Members in the Legislative council of a State shall not exceed one third of the total number of Members in the Legislative Assembly.

Article 182 of the Constitution provides that the Legislative Council of the state may choose two members as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the council.

At present there are seven states which have legislative council. These are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Telangana.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए