Tamil Nadu lifts Vijay Hazare Trophy

With this win, Tamil Nadu became the only team to win the tournament five times. In 2004-05, the team shared the trophy with Uttar Pradesh.

Mar 21, 2017 09:53 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Tamil Nadu on 20 March 2017 won the Vijay Hazare Trophy of Cricket, for the fifth time. In the Final played at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi, they defeated Bengal by 37 runs.

Tamil Nadu wins Vijay Hazare Trophy

It was Tamil Nadu's third victory over Bengal in the final of this competition.

Opting to bat, Tamil Nadu posted 217, riding on a century by Dinesh Karthik. He made 112. In reply, they bundled out Bengal for 180 in 45.5 overs. Aswin Crist, Rahil Shah and M. Mohammad bagged 2 wickets each, while for Bengal, Sudip Chatterjee top scored with 58.

Man of the match: Dinesh Karthik

Roger Federer wins ATP Indian Wells Masters title

Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is a domestic 50-over competition of Cricket played in India. It is also known as the Ranji One Day Trophy. The tournament started in 2002-03 involves state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates. It is named after the famous Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare.

Jharkhand won the trophy in 2011, beating Gujarat in the finals at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore. Bengal won it on 2011-12.

List of winners of Vijay Hazare Trophy between 2014 and 17




Tamil Nadu









Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप