Trivendra Singh Rawat sworn-in as Uttarakhand Chief Minister

Mar 18, 2017 15:45 IST

trivendra singh rawat uttarakhand CM Trivendra Singh Rawat was on 18 March 2017 sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand by the State Governor Krishna Kant Paul at the Parade Ground in Dehrandun.

TS Rawat succeeded Harish Rawat of the Indian National Congress (INC) in the aftermath of the recent general elections to the State Legislative Assembly.

In the February 2017 elections, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 57 out of the 69 seats by garnering 46.5 per cent of the total votes polled, the ruling INC got only 11 seats and 33.5 per cent of the total votes polled.

CA eBook

Who is Trivendra Singh Rawat?

• 56-year-old Rawat completed a post-graduate degree in history and a diploma in journalism from the Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University.

• Rawat joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in 1979 before becoming its pracharak for the Dehradun region in 1985.

• He was the organizing secretary of the RSS in the Uttarakhand region and later of the State after its formation in 2000.

• For the first time, he was elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) of the Uttarakhand from Doiwala constituency in 2002.

• The recent victory in the 2017 elections is his third win from the Doiwala constituency.

• He was appointed as a National Secretary of the BJP in 2013.

• In 2014, he was appointed as the in-charge of the BJP in Jharkhand.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Uttarakhand CM , TS Rawat , Elections 2017 , BJP CM

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK