Union Cabinet Approved Special Board for Hyderabad-Karnataka Region

Oct 9, 2013 15:01 IST

The Union Cabinet on 8 October 2013 approved a notification for issuing Presidential order to establish a separate development board for Hyderabad-Karnataka region in Karnataka.

Article 371-J of the Constitution grants special status to six backward districts in Hyderabad- Karnataka region, with provision for reservation in education and jobs for locals.

Under the Article 371-J, the President is empowered to entrust the state Governor to establish a separate board to ensure equitable allocation of funds in the state's budget to meet the development needs of the region. Six backward districts of North Karnataka - Gulbarga, Yadgir, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal and Bellary - fall in the region.

The Development Board will ensure

• Equitable allocation of funds to meet the development needs of the region from the State Budget.
• Promote employment from the region by providing for local cadres in service.
• Provide for reservation in educational and vocational training institutions.

Hyderabad-Karnataka region was given a special status under Article 371 J of the Constitution by the parliament on 20 December 2012. A new Article 371 J was inserted in the Constitution through the Constitution (Ninety-Eighth Amendment) Bill, 2012.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes76 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Hyderabad-Karnataka region , Article 371-J

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK