Union Government approved introduction of Common Norms for all the Skill Development Schemes

Jul 4, 2015 09:30 IST

The Union Cabinet on 2 July 2015 approved the introduction of Common Norms across all skill development schemes being implemented by different Ministries or Departments of Union Government.

Common Norms seek to rationalise the whole spectrum of skill development processes and systems including inputs, outputs, funding/cost norms, third party certification and assessment, monitoring/tracking mechanisms and empanelment of training providers.
Common Norms define the activities constituting Skill Development in the country, skill development courses and their alignment with the National Skills Qualification Framework, broad input standards for training programmes and the outcomes expected from these programmes.

The outcomes of skill training programmes have been defined in terms of placement achieved in wage and self- employment, both for fresh trainees as well as existing workers who have undergone Recognition of Prior Learning.

As the common norms are aimed at being outcome focused, the cost norms and fund flow mechanism for skill development programmes have also been linked to specific outcomes achieved.

Cost norms include support for components like mobilisation of candidates, trainers’ training, placement expenses, post-placement tracking/monitoring and infrastructure costs.

The common norms would be applicable to the skill development schemes being implemented through various Ministries. The State Governments are also expected to align their skill development schemes with these common norms so as to bring in uniformity and standardization.

Creation of Common Norms Committee

  • It envisages the creation of a Common Norms Committee under the Chairmanship of Secretary, Union Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship to bring about uniformity and standardisation among the skill development schemes of the Central Government.
  • The Committee will also consist of eight other representatives from relevant Central Ministries/Departments, State Governments, National Skill Development Agency (NSDA) and National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC), with a provision for inviting experts and other significant stakeholders who may be necessary in the decision making process.
  • It will be empowered to amend the common norms, schedules of the notification, training costs and funding norms for skill development programmes.

Currently, over 70-odd Skill Development Programmes (SDPs) are being implemented by the Union Government. Each programme has its own norms for eligibility criteria, duration of training, cost of training, outcomes, monitoring and tracking mechanism etc.

This multiplicity of norms and parameters has created a diffusive effect of SDPs, which needs to be streamlined in order to achieve the final outcomes envisaged.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK