Union Government notifies rules for Real Estate Act for five UTs

Nov 1, 2016 14:51 IST

The Union Government on 31 October 2016 notified the rules for Real Estate (Regulation and Development) (General) Rules, 2016 that seeks to regulate the housing sector besides bringing transparency and ensuring timely completion of projects in five Union Territories.

The rules notified by the Housing Ministry will be applicable to Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Lakshadweep.

Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act 2016 came into force

Ministry of Urban Development will come out with such rules for the National Capital Region of Delhi while the other States and UTs will come out with their own rules.

The Act, which is touted as a major reform measure to regulate the vast real estate sector, requires registration of all projects with state-level Real Estate Regulatory Authorities to ensure protection of the interests of both buyers and builders.

The Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act, 2016 was partly brought into effect on 1 May 2016.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Union Government , Real Estate Act , Housing , Union Territories ,

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK