1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

UP Government issued Fresh Notification for Creation of Amethi as a New District

Jul 6, 2013 12:36 IST

The Uttar Pradesh government on 5 July 2013 issued a fresh notification for creation of Amethi as a new district which will include three tehsils of Sultanpur and one of Rae Bareli. The district headquarters of Amethi will be Gauriganj.  Sultanpur's Amethi, Gauriganj and Musafirkhana tehsils and Rae Bareli's Tiloi will be part of Amethi district.
Some revenue villages of Maharajganj tehsil of Rae Bareli were included in Tiloi tehsil of Amethi and in exchange some villages of Tiloi were included in Maharajganj.

Amethi is Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi's parliamentary constituency, whereas Rae Bareli is Congress President Sonia Gandhi's constituency.

The Allahabad High Court had in April 2013 quashed the UP government notification of July 2010 that paved way for creation of Amethi (then ChhatrapatiShaujiMaharajNagar) as a separate district in response to a public interest litigation. The litigation had contested that Amethi cannot be given the status of a district because of the ongoing census operations.

In 2002, the then chief minister Mayawati had carved out a separate district of Amethi and it was named as Chhatrapati Shauji Maharaj Nagar (CSM Nagar). The creation of new district was announced in May 2003. However, in August 2003, BSP government led by Mayawati fell following withdrawal of support by the BJP and its coalition partners. The succeeding SP government led by Mulayam Singh Yadav scrapped Amethi district in September 2003.

The CSM Nagar district was once again renamed Amethi in July 2012 by the SP government which came to power in March 2012. On 22 September 2012, a larger bench of the Allahabad high court ruled that the state government could not issue a notification for creating new district in view of the notification issued by the Government of India regarding Census operations. Finally, in April 2013, a Lucknow bench of Justice Devi Prasad Singh, Justice Sabibul Hasnain and Justice DK Arora quashed the state government's notification for creation of CSM Nagar district renamed as Amethi by the SP government.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes28 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: UP government , Amethi , new district

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK