Veteran playwright Ratan Thiyam named for 11th META theatre award

Mar 2, 2016 10:07 IST

Veteran playwright and director Ratan Thiyam was on 1 March 2016 named for Lifetime Achievement Award of the 11th edition of the Mahindra Excellence Theatre Awards (META).

He was selected for the award for creating a new language in theatre and enriching the art form in various roles as writer, director, designer, composer and choreographer. He is the current chairman of the National School of Drama.

 In the past, this award has been given to theatre greats such as Zohra Sehgal, Badal Sarkar, Khaled Chowdhury, Ebrahim Alkazi, Girish Karnad and Heisnam Kanhailal.

About META awards

META, instituted by the Mahindra Group, is one of the Indian theatre industry’s premier awards. It is recognise and reward all aspects of theatre production and stage craft.

The awards consist of a specially designed trophy and a cheque of 100000 rupees for the best production, 75000 rupees for best original playwright and 45000 rupees for all other award categories.

The Mahindra Group, through META, aims to increase awareness and appreciation of Indian theatre, making it the only national platform for recognising and rewarding theatre.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Veteran playwright , Ratan Thiyam , 11th META theatre award

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK