Virat Kohli named ICC cricketer of the year

Jan 18, 2018 15:12 IST
Virat Kohli named ICC cricketer of the year

Indian Captain Virat Kohli was named the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year at the ICC annual awards, which were announced in Dubai on 18 January 2018.

The award is courtesy the 29-year-old’s splendid form during the qualification period, which was from September 2016 till the end of 2017, when he knocked up a total of 2203 runs including 8 centuries in tests, 1818 runs with 7 centuries in ODIs and 299 runs in T20 Internationals.

This is the second time that Kohli has won the award, his first being in 2012. It is also the second time in succession that an Indian has won the overall cricketer of the year award. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin had claimed the honour in 2016.

Kohli also led India to the top of the world’s test rankings during the period and was the recipient of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, which is considered as cricket's ultimate individual award.

Besides this, Kohli also won the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award. This is the first instance since 2013 that the award has been won by a non-South African. While Quinton de Kock received the award in 2016, AB de Villiers won it in 2014 and 2015.

Kohli was also named the captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

The ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award went to Australian captain Steve Smith, who had scored 1875 runs in 16 matches at an average of 78.12, with eight hundreds and five 50s during the qualification period.

CA eBook

Following is the full list of ICC awards:

Test team of the year: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (captain), Steven Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson

ODI team of the year: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah

ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year:  Virat Kohli (India)

Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year:  Steve Smith (Australia)

Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year:  Virat Kohli (India)

Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

Men’s T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (6-25 v England) (India)

ICC Umpire of the Year:  Marais Erasmus

ICC Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)

Harjinder Singh appointed as Chef de Mission for 23rd Winter Olympic Games

Vibrant Khelo India logo launched

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK