West Indies defeated England to win ICC World T20 Men’s title

Apr 4, 2016 08:21 IST

West Indies on 3 April 2016 won the ICC Cricket World T-20 Men’s Cup 2016. In the final clash at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, West Indies defeated England by 4 wickets.

England batting first was bowled out at a score of 155 for 9 wickets and in reply to the target West Indies scored 161 at the loss of 4 wickets in 19.4 over.

• Player of the match – Marlon Samuels (West Indies)

• Player of the series – Virat Kohli (India)

Captains of the two teams

• West Indies Darren Sammy

• England – Eoin Morgan

With this win, West Indies became the only team so far to win the ICC World Twenty20 title twice, having secured it last in 2012.

Earlier, West Indies won their maiden Women's World T-20 title by defeating reigning champions Australia by 8 wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: England , West Indies , T-20 World Cup , Eoin Morgan , Darren Sammy , Virat Kohli

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK