Jagran Josh Logo

Chhattisgarh: Geography

22-NOV-2013 13:47

    Chhattisgarh is engraved out of Madhya Pradesh and came into being on November 1, 2000 as the Twenty Sixth State of the Union. It accomplishes the long- treasured demand of the people. In prehistoric times the county was recognized as Dakshin - Kausal. Between the 6th and 12th centuries Panduavanshi, Sarabhpurias, Somvanshi, Nagvanshi and Kalchuri rulers subjugated this region. Kalchuris ruled in Chhattisgarh region from 980 to 1791 AD.


    With the start of the British rule in the year 1845, Raipur expanded distinction as a replacement for its capital Ratanpur. In the year 1904, Sambalpur region was relocated to Odisha and the estates of Sarguja were shifted from Bengal to Chhattisgarh. Chhattisgarh is enclosed by Southern Jharkhand and Odisha in the East, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh in the west, Western Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh in the North and Andhra Pradesh in South.


    Geographical features


    Coordinates: 21.27°N 81.60°E

    Established: 01 November 2000

    Capital: Raipur

    Largest city: Raipur

    Districts: 27 (9 dist. new)

    Official languages: Chhattisgarhi and Hindi


    Major Rivers of Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river:  Kanhar River

    Passes through: Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Rihand River

    Passes through: Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh 


    Name of the river: Sankh River

    Passes through:  Chattisgarh, Odisha, Jharkhand


    Name of the river: Tandula River

    Passes through: Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Sondur River

    Passes through: Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Shivnath River

    Passes through: Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Sabari River

    Passes through: Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Rihand River

    Passes through: Chhattisgarh


    Name of the river: Mand River

    Passes through: Chhattisgarh, Orissa


    Name of the river: Indravati River

    Passes through: Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh


    Major Waterfalls


    Name of the waterfall: Chitrakoot Falls

    Location: Jagdalpur, India

    Total height: 29 metres

     Watercourse: Indravati River


    Name of the waterfall: Teerathgarh Falls

    Total height: 91 metres

    Watercourse: Kanger River



    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    Newsletter Signup
    Follow us on
    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK