Distribution of Lok Sabha Seats in Indian states

There can be a maximum of 552 members (530 states + 20 Union Territories + 2 Anglo Indians) in the Indian Lok Sabha. At present, the strength of the House is 545 in which 530 members are State representatives,13 from UTs, and 2 are nominated by the Presidents who belong to the Anglo-Indian community.
parliament of India
parliament of India

The Lok Sabha is called the lower house of the Parliament of India or the house of the people. Each member of a Lok Sabha seat represents a single geographic constituency. 

Currently, only 545 members (530 states+13 UTs) are elected for Lok Sabha from different states and UTs and 2 are nominated by the Presidents who belong to the Anglo-Indian community.

The representatives of the states in the Lok Sabha are directly elected by the people from the territorial constituencies in the states.

The election is based on the principle of universal adult franchise. Every Indian citizen who has crossed the age of 18 years is eligible to vote. Earlier the age of voting was 21 years but later on, it was reduced to 18 years after the 61st Constitutional Amendment Act, 1988.

The seat allocation to the different states and UTs is done on the basis of the population of 1971.

Here is the list of distribution of Lok Sabha seats in the Indian states:-



 1. Uttar Pradesh


 2. Maharashtra


 3. West Bengal


 4. Bihar


 5. Tamil Nadu


 6. Madhya Pradesh


 7. Karnataka


 8. Gujarat


 9. Rajasthan


 10. Andhra Pradesh


 11. Odisha


 12. Kerala


 13. Telangana


 14. Assam


 15. Jharkhand


 16. Punjab


 17. Chhattisgarh


 18. Haryana


19. Uttarakhand


 20. Himachal Pradesh


 21. Arunachal Pradesh


 22. Goa


 23. Manipur


 24. Meghalaya


 25. Tripura


 26. Mizoram


 27. Nagaland


 28. Sikkim


29. Jammu and Kashmir


 Union Territories


 1 . Delhi


 2 . Andaman and Nicobar Islands


 3. Chandigarh


 4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli


 5. Daman and Diu


 6. Lakshadweep


 7. Puducherry


             Total 19

The president of India is entitled to nominate 2 members in the Lok Sabha. If the president of India thinks that there is no representation (if no Anglo Indian member won the election) in the Lok Sabha from the Anglo Indian Community then he can nominate 2 members. The number of Members of Parliament will be reviewed in 2026.

Note: As we know that now  Ladakh, Jammu, and Kashmir are India’s newest Union Territories. In August 2019, Jammu and Kashmir lost its autonomous status. But the allocation of the seats is still to de done. Therefore, the table given above is according to the 2019 elections. Also, the Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra, and Nagar Haveli became a single union territory on 26 January but the data given above is of 2019 elections. 

Indian Polity & Governance: A Complete Study Material

What is the Expenditure limit in the Lok Sabha and Assembly Elections in 2019?

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories