ICC World Twenty 20 Bangladesh 2014

26-MAR-2014 15:46

    indian team


    The ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 will be played from 16 March to 6 April, with a total of 62 tournament matches (35 men’s and 27 women’s). The matches will be played across Dhaka, Chittagong, and Sylhet in the 22-day tournament.

    Basic Rules

    Talking about the prerequisite for playing the ICC Twenty - 20 World Cup, all the Test playing countries receive the same automatically. As for the rest of the places in the 12 team’s championship, they are crammed by ICC associate affiliate nations, also recognized as qualifiers, on the basis of the qualification tournament. In the year 2007, there were 2 qualifiers – Kenya and Scotland. In 2009, there were 3 qualifiers – Netherlands, Scotland and Ireland.

    The hosts of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup are determined on account of the bids made by the countries interested in holding the competition. It is the managerial board of International Cricket Council that casts their vote on the bids, opting for the host country.

    The logo of the ICC World Twenty20, 2014 is enthused by the inimitable painted rickshaws, which horde the streets of Bangladesh cities. For the 1st time, sixteen men’s teams will contend for ICC World Twenty - 20 in Bangladesh 2014 flanking eight women’s teams who embrace for the 1st time the hosts.

    Important Events
    • The inaugural ICC World Twenty20 Cricket world cup was held in 2007 in South Africa. India won the championship after defeating Pakistan by 5 runs in the final.
    • The second ICC World Twenty20 Cricket world cup was held in June 2009 in England.  Pakistan emerged as the winner of the tournament after it beat Sri Lanka in final.
    • The Third ICC Twenty20 world cup took place in West Indies in April-May 2010 which was won by England after it defeated Australia by 7 wickets.
    • The Fourth ICC World Twenty20 cricket world cup was played in Sri Lanka in September-October 2012 which was won by West Indies after it defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in final.

    Recent Developments in the Game

    The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 has been increased from 8 to 10 teams while men’s event has now 16 teams, an increase from 12 teams earlier.


    Source: Cricket World, ICC cricket.com

    Do You want to Test your knowledge on Cricket?

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK