75th Independence Day 2021: History, Significance, Celebration and Facts

Independence Day 2021: On 15 August, 1947 India became independent from British rule and the first Prime Minister of independent India Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the national flag at the Lahori Gate of Red Fort in Delhi. Let us have a look at the history behind Independence Day, how is it celebrated, etc.
Created On: Aug 14, 2021 17:25 IST
Modified On: Aug 14, 2021 18:49 IST
75th Indian Independence Day 2021: क्या है स्वतंत्रता दिवस का इतिहास, इसका महत्व और भारत में इसे कैसे मनाया जाता है?
75th Indian Independence Day 2021: क्या है स्वतंत्रता दिवस का इतिहास, इसका महत्व और भारत में इसे कैसे मनाया जाता है?

Independence Day 2020: The theme of India's Independence Day 2021 celebrations at the Red Fort is 'Nation First, Always First'. The Prime Minister will address the nation on 15th August, 2021.

Special invitations have been sent to the Olympians who won medals at the 2020 Tokyo Games. This year's event will also be restricted for the public like 2020 and no cultural performance will be staged by children.

No doubt it was not easy for India to get freedom from British rule. But our political leaders, freedom fighters, and people together participated in the freedom struggle and were determined to gain independence.

On 15 August i.e. Independence Day is a gazetted holiday that means the national, state, and local government offices, post offices, and banks remain closed. Even stores and other businesses and organisations reduced their opening hours or may be closed.

Happy Independence Day 2021: Wishes, WhatsApp Messages, Quotes, Slogan, Images & SMS

Indian Independence Day: History

In 1757, British rule began in India which was followed by the victory of the English East India Company at the Battle of Plassey and gained control over the country. East India Company took control in India for almost 100 years and then the British crown replaced it via Indian Mutiny in 1857-58. During World War I, the Indian Independence movement was started and it was led by Mahatma Gandhi who advocated the method of nonviolent, non-cooperation movement which was followed by the Civil Disobedience movement.

In 1946, the Labour Government, the exchequer of Britain thought of ending their rule over India because of their capital loss during World War II. Then, the British Government in early 1947 announced to transfer all powers to the Indians by June 1948. But the violence between Hindu and Muslims was not decreased basically in Punjab and Bengal. In fact, in June 1947 several leaders like Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Abul Kalam Azad, B.R Ambedkar, etc. agreed to the partition of India. Millions of people from different religious groups started finding places to reside. And due to this approx 250,000 to 500,000 people died. On 15 August, 1947 at midnight India got independence and was concluded by the Jawahar Lal Nehru speech "Tryst with destiny". 

What is the Indian Independence Act 1947?

The British Prime Minister Clement Atlee on 20 February, 1947 declared that the British rule in India would end by 30 June, 1948 after which the powers would be transferred to responsible Indian hands. This announcement was followed by the agitation by the Muslim League and the demand for the partition of the country. Then, on 3 June, 1947, British Government declared that any Constitution framed by the Indian Constituent Assembly which was formed in 1946 cannot apply to those parts of the country which were unwilling to accept it. And so on the same day that is on 3 June, 1947, Lord Mountbatten, the viceroy of India put forth the partition plan which is known as Mountbatten Plan. Congress and the Muslim League accepted the plan. The immediate effect was given to the plan enacting the Indian Independence Act 1947.

On 14-15 August, 1947, midnight, the British rule came to an end, and power was transferred to the two new independent Dominions of India and Pakistan. Lord Mountbatten became the first governor-general of the new Dominion of India. Jawahar Lal Nehru became the first prime minister of Independent India. The Constituent Assembly that was set up in 1946 became the Parliament of Indian Dominion.

Indian Independence Day: Celebrations

Every year the Army, Navy, and Air Force marched across the Red Fort and the school children in colourful dresses in front of the dignitaries and audience give performances.

Prime Minister of India unfurls the flag and holds a speech at the Red Fort. Several cultural programs are held in the state capital Delhi by various schools and organisations but this year due to the ongoing pandemic the celebration will be different.

People on Independence Day fly kites which symbolises the free spirit of India. Red Fort in Delhi is also an important symbol as on 15 August, 1947, the first Prime Minister of Independent India Jawahar Lal Nehru unveiled India's flag. Several people attend the flag hoisting ceremony in the city of Delhi which is a beautiful experience to watch. And some people watch patriotic cinemas; watch the Red Fort ceremony in their houses on TV. The whole nation celebrates this day with full enthusiasm and with the spirit of patriotism.

So, Independence Day in India is celebrated in various ways and with full patriotic feelings. We are proud to be Indian.

Happy Independence Day!

Independence Day 2021: 18 Laws and Rights must be known to every Indian







Revolt of 1857 begun from which place?

The revolt of 1857 begun in Meerut by Indian troops (sepoys) in the service of the British East India Company and then it spread to Delhi, Agra, Kanpur, and Lucknow.

Who abolished the doctrine of lapse?

The doctrine of Lapse was abolished by Lord Canning (1858-62).

Who designed the distinct Indian Rupee symbol?

D. Udaya Kumar designed the distinct Indian Rupee symbol.

Who said, "Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it"?

Bal Gangadhar Tilak gave the slogan "Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it" during the freedom struggle.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.