1. Home
  2.  | 
  4.  | 
  5. Current GK  | 

List of Cabinet Committees in India and their Members

Cabinet Committees in India are extra-constitutional bodies. It means these bodies are not mentioned in the Indian Constitution. Cabinet Committees are formed to reduce the world load of the Cabinet Ministers.
Jun 6, 2019 17:30 IST

    Recently NDA government reconstituted 8 Cabinet Committees. The number of the Cabinet Committees has also been increased by the present NDA Government. Earlier the numbers of the Cabinet Committees in India were 6 but as of now there are 8 Cabinet Committees in total.

    The NDA government introduced two new Cabinet Committees i.e. Cabinet Committee on Employment and skill development and Cabinet committee on investment & growth.

    The membership of the Cabinet Committees varies from 3 to 8. These Cabinet Committees usually include Cabinet Ministers but Non Cabinet Ministers are also included in these Cabinet Committees.

    Cabinet Committees not only sort out issues and formulate different proposals for the consideration of the cabinet. In some cases these Cabinet Committees take decision but the cabinet is authorised to review their decisions.

    Name of the Committee


    Function of Committee

    1. Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA

    PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ramvilas Paswan, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Dr. Harshvardhan, Piyush Goyal, Arvind Ganpat Sawant and Prahlad Joshi

    Deals with all political matters (domestic and International matters)

    2. Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA)

    PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, DV Sadanand Gaud, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Dr. S. Jaishankar, Piyush Goyal and Dharmendra Pradhan

    Directs and coordinates with government on economic events.

    3. Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC)

    PM Narendra Modi and Amit Shah.


    Decides all top level appointments like cabinet secretaries, head of banks and financial institutions

    4. Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA)

    Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ram Vilas Paswan, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Prakash Javadekar and Prahlad Joshi, Arjun Ram Meghwal and V Muralidharan


    It looks after the progress of government business in the Parliament.


    5. Cabinet Committee on Accommodation (CCA)

    Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal. Jitendra Singh  Hardeep Singh Puri

    It is responsible for the allotment of accommodation for various top positions in the Government of India.

    6. Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)

    PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman and S. Jaishankar

    It looks into the matters of defense expenditures and National Security.

    Two new committees are

    7. Cabinet committee on investment & growth

    PM Modi, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal

    It will be responsible for increase in investment and growth of the economy

    8. Cabinet Committee on Employment and skill development

    PM Modi, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar, Piyush Goyal, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Santosh Kumar Gangwar and Hardeep Singh Puri. Nitin Gadkari, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Smriti Irani and Prahlad Singh Patel

    It will be responsible for employment generation and skill development in the country.

    In the above given table the first three committees are chaired by the Prime Minister of the country and the committees on the parliamentary affairs is headed by the Home Minister of the country. The parliamentary affairs committee is considered most powerful in all of them and often described as the “Super Cabinet”.

    Note: It is worth to mention that the number of committees can be reduced or increased as per the requirement of the cabinet. In the UPA-2 tenure there were 13 Cabinet Committees in the country. The introduction of two new committees by the NDA government is a new phenomenon because these committees are made to increase employment and employability among the youth. We have to wait and watch to see the results of their composition. 

    Cabinet Committees in India: Meaning, Functions and Types



    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below