1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. General Knowledge Lists  |  

Hoysala Dynasty| List of Hoysala Rulers and their contributions

Dec 8, 2017 12:31 IST
    List of Hoysala Rulers and their contributions

    The Hoysala Dynasty was the prominent dynasty of the Kannadiga region (what is now Karnataka, India) who ruled between 10th to 14th centuries AD. Belur was their capital city which was later moved to Halebidu. The dynasty remembered for temple building and their three most well-known Temples are the Kesava Temple at Somanathapura, Chennakesava Temple at Belur and Hoysaleswara Temple at Halebidu. Here, we are giving the brief account on the Hoysala rulers and their contributions.

    List of Hoysala Rulers and their contributions

    Name of Rulers

    Reign (AD)

    Contribution (s)

    Nripa Kama II


    1. Founder of the Hoysala Dynasty



    1. He was able Jain king of Hoysala Dynasty.

    2. He ruled over the Malnad chiefs like the Kongalvas, Chengalvas, Santharas of Humcha Shimoga and the Kadambas of Bayalnadu (Vainadu).



    1. He was the son of Vinayaditya and ruled as Monarch of Hoysala empire.

    2. He was Jain by faith.

    Veera Ballala I


    1. Succeeded Ereyanga as a ruler of Hoysala Dynasty.

    2. He was Jain by faith.



    1. Succeeded Veera Ballala I as a ruler of Hoysala Dynasty.

    2. He was Jain by faith and popularly known as 'Bitti Deva'.

    3. He converted into Hindu under the influence of Ramanujacharya and adopted name 'Vishnuvardhana'.

    4. The mathematician Rajaditya wrote Vyavaharaganita and Lilavati on mathematics under his reign.

    5. He built the Keerthi Narayana temple at Talakad, and the spectacular Vijayanarayana temple at Belur.

    Narasimha I


    1. He defeated the overlord Western Chalukya Empire and declared himself independent ruler of Hoysala dynasty.

    2. He was overthrown by his son Veera Ballala II.

    Veera Ballala II


    1. He defeated the Yadavas of Devagiri, Southern Kalachuris, Pandyas of Madurai and Western Chalukya Empire.

    2. He patronage the most notable of medieval Kannada language poets including the Jain poets Janna and Nemichandra, and the Brahman poet Rudrabhatta.

    3. The Kedareshwara temple at Halebidu, the Veera Narayana temple at Belavadi, the Amrutesvara Temple at Amruthapura and the twin ensemble of the Chennakeshava and Nageshvara temples at Mosale was built duirng his reign.

    Vira Narasimha II


    1. He defeated the Kadavas and Pandyas and levied a tribute.

    2. The Kannada poet Sumanobana was his court poet.

    Vira Someshwara


    1. He consolidated South Deccan by asserting complete influence on the Cholas and the Pandayas.

    2. He divided the kingdom between two sons in 1254 AD - Ramanatha who ruled from Kannanur and Narasimha III who ruled from Halebidu, their original capital. 

    Narasimha III


    1. He worshiped Parshvanatha, the 23rd Jain tirthankara, and his spiritual adviser was Maghanandi Siddhanta (Digambara monk of Balatkara Gana).

    2. He was succeeded by his notable son Veera Ballala III.

    Veera Ballala III


    1. He was the last ruler of Hoyasala Dynasty.

    The administration of the Hoysala Dynasty was inherited from the Chalukyas and their economy was agrarian. They were followers of Jainism, Buddhism and Hinduism.

    Chola Dynasty | Pandya Dynasty | Chalukya Dynasty | Kakatiya Dynasty

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK