1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. General Knowledge Lists  |  

List of Men’s Cricket Test Match Playing Teams

Jul 12, 2018 12:55 IST
    Cricket Test Match playing Teams

    The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the global governing body for international cricket, encompassing men's, women's teams. ICC is governed by the ICC Constitution.

    Currently there are 104 members of the ICC. ICC has two Membership categories which are as follows:

    Full Members: These members are part of the governing bodies for cricket of a country recognised by the ICC. These members are authorised to play test matches organised by the ICC. Currently there are 12 countries included in this list.

    Associate Members: These members do not qualify as the full member but cricket is firmly established and organised in these countries. Currently there are 92 members in this category.

    Currently there are 12 Test-playing men's teams. All teams represent individual, independent nations, except for the West Indies, England and Ireland.

    Test status is given to a country or group of countries by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Teams that do not have Test playing status can play in the ICC Intercontinental Cup.

    List of Top 10 Biggest cricket stadiums in the world

    At the ICC Annual Conference 2017 in London, Afghanistan and Ireland were accepted as Full Members. So the total number of teams allowed to play test became twelve.

    The list of test match playing teams is as follows;



    Test Status Awarded



    15 March 1877



    15 March 1877


    South Africa

    12 March 1889


    West Indies

    23 June 1928


    New Zealand

    10 January 1930



    25 June 1932



    16 October 1952


    Sri Lanka

    17 February 1982



    18 October 1992



    10 November 2000



    11 May 2018



    14 June 2018

    Interesting to know that the first officially ICC recognised Test match took place on 15–19 March 1877 between Australia and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), where Australia won by 45 runs.

    Team India played its first test match against England at Lords in 1932 under the captainship of C K. Nayudu. Englands won this match by 158 runs.

    first test match of india

    Image source:Livemint

    A question may arise in the mind of the readers of this article that what is the criteria to give the status of test playing team. The International Cricket Council has made criteria to qualify as the test match playing team.

    One criterion is as follows;

    An associate nation needs to compete and win the Intercontinental Cup, which is a two-year first class competition for associate nations.

    The associate nation which wins the ICC Intercontinental Cup gets a chance to compete with the lowest ranked test team once every four years in the ICC Test Challenge.

    We hope you like this article. For more such interesting stories do visit the General Knowledge section of the jagranjosh.com.

    How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches

    List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below