List of Param Vir Chakra awardees

Param Vir Chakra is India’s highest wartime gallantry award. It was introduced on 26 January, 1950. It has mostly been awarded posthumously. Let us study about the list of Param Vir Chakra awardees through this article.
Created On: Jul 1, 2020 06:45 IST
Modified On: Jul 26, 2020 06:45 IST
List of Param Vir Chakra Awardees
List of Param Vir Chakra Awardees

Param Vir Chakra is the highest wartime gallantry medal for officers and other enlisted personnel of all military branches of India for the highest degree of valour in the presence of the enemy, on land, at sea or in the air. The medal was introduced in January 1950 and with effect from 15 August 1947. It is made of bronze. It can be awarded posthumously. Param Vir Chakra is the equivalent award of Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the Medal of Honour in the United States.Let us study about the awardees of Param Vir Chakra through this article.

List of Param Vir Chakra awardees





Major Somnath Sharma

4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment

3 Nov, 1947, Posthumous

Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane

Bombay Engineers

8, April, 1948

Naik Jadu Nath Singh

1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment

6 February, 1948, Posthumous

Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat

6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles

18 July, 1948,


Lance Naik Karam Singh

Sikh Regiment

13 October, 1948

Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria

3/1 Gorkha Rifles

5 December, 1961

Major Dhan Singh Thapa

1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles

21 October, 1962

Subedar Joginder Singh

1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment

23 October, 1962, Posthumous

Major Shaitan Singh

13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment

18 November, 1962,Posthumous

Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid

4th Battalion, The Grenadiers

10 September, 1965, Posthumous

Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore

17th Poona Horse

11 September, 1965, Posthumous

Lance Naik Albert Ekka

14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards

4 December, 1971, Posthumous

Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon

No.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force

14 December, 1971, Posthumous

2/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal

17 Poona Horse

16 December, 1971, Posthumous

Major Hoshiar Singh

3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers Regiment

17 December, 1971

Naib Subedar Bana Singh

Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry

23 May, 1987

Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran

8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment

25 November, 1987, Posthumous

Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey

1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles

3 July, 1999, Posthumous

Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav

18th Battalion, The Grenadiers

4 July, 1999

Rifleman Sanjay Kumar

13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles

4 July, 1999

Captain Vikram Batra

13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles

7 July, 1999, Posthumous

Hence, we can say that 21 soldiers have been awarded Param Vir Chakra the highest Gallantry award in India and none of them are form Navy. Out of which 20 were from the Indian Army and one from the Air force.

Mahavir Chakra: India’s Second Highest Gallantry Award

GK Questions and Answers on latest Awards and Honours in India

Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 6 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Related Categories