Jagran Josh Logo

Rajasthan: Chief Minister 2013

12-AUG-2013 13:00

    The Chief Minister of Rajasthan is the head of the Rajasthan Government. Allocated since 2008, Mr. Ashok Gehlot of the INC (Indian National Congress) party is the current serving Chief Minister.


    Name:                         Sh. Ashok Gehlot

    Birth Date:                   3 May, 1951

    Birth Place:                  Mahamandir, Jodhpur

    Marital Status:              Married

    Spouse’s Name:           Smt Sunita Gehlot

    Profession:                  Social and Political Worker

    Constituency:              Sardarpura (Jodhpur)

    Party:                         Indian National Congress (INC)


    Membership of Legislature

    1999 - 2003

    Member of Legislature, Eleventh Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

    2003 - 2008 

    Member of Legislature, Twelfth Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

    2008 onwards

    Member of Legislature, Thirteenth Rajasthan Legislative Assembly


    Membership of Parliament


    Member of Parliament, Seventh Lok Sabha


    Member of Parliament, Eighth Lok Sabha


    Member of Parliament, Tenth Lok Sabha


    Member of Parliament, Eleventh Lok Sabha


    Member of Parliament, Twelfth Lok Sabha


    Positions held

    1980 - 1982

    Member of Public Accounts Committee (Lok Sabha)

    1982 - 1983

    Union Deputy Minister (Department of Tourism)

    1983 - 1984

    Union Deputy Minister (Department of Tourism and Civil Aviation) 

    1984 - 1984

    Union Deputy Minister (Department of Sports)

    1984 - 1985

    Union Minister of State (Department of Tourism & Civil Aviation)

    1989 - 1989

    Minister, (Department of Home & PHED, Government of Rajasthan)

    1991 - 1993

    Union Minister of State (Department of Textiles)

    1991 - 1996

    Consultative Committee on Communication (Lok Sabha)

    1991 - 1998

    Standing Committee on Railway, Tenth & Eleventh Lok Sabha

    1996 - 1998

    Consultative Committee on External Affairs (Lok Sabha)

    December 01, 1998- 8-12-2003

    Chief Minister of Rajasthan

    December 13, 2008 – Continued

    Chief Minister of Rajasthan


    Other Positions Held

    1974 - 1979

    President of Rajasthan NSUI

    1979 - 1982

    President of City District Congress Committee (Jodhpur)


    General Secretary of Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee

    1985 - 1989,
    1994 - 1997, and
    1997 - 1999

    President of Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee


    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    Newsletter Signup
    Follow us on
    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK