Who is economist Jayati Ghosh? The economist who was named the recipient of the Global Agricultural Economics Award, 2023!

Jayati Ghosh has been named the recipient of the 2023 Global Agricultural Economics Award. Let us know the lady better.
Economist Jayati Ghosh
Economist Jayati Ghosh

Jayati Ghosh, a notable development economist and a former professor at Jawaharlal Nehru University has been named a recipient of the Galbraith Award by the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA). The awards have been named after renowned Canadian economist John Kenneth Galbraith.


At present, Jayati Ghosh is a professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

The Galbraith Award by the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA)

The awards are named after renowned Canadian economist, John Kenneth Galbraith. The awards honor the spirit of amalgamating scholarship with the statesmanship of the man and appreciate and acknowledge his achievements in education, public service, and research.


The trust says that “AAEAs aim with this award is to recognize scholars and leaders who, like J.K. Galbraith, possess a record of intellectual leadership with service to the nation and the world.”

CJI Chandrachud says that SC will have a “neutral citations system” What is the neutral citation system?


Earlier recipients of the award!

Joseph E. Stiglitz (2004), Martin Weitzman (2013), Michael Porter (2005), and Dani Rodrik (2019) are some of the earlier recipients of the award.

A bit about Jayati Ghosh


Image Source: Seema


Jayati Ghosh was appointed to a high-level advisory board. The board was based on “Effective Multilateralism” and was set up by the United Nations Secretary-General Antonio Guterres.


Nearly two years ago, that is, in the year 2021, Jayati Ghosh was named among 20 imminent personalities appointed by the United Nations to another high-level advisory board. The board will be offering recommendations for the UN Secretary-General to cater to socio-economic challenges after the COVID-19 world pandemic.


The success milestones touched by the lady are not only limited to this award. Jayati Ghosh has received several global and national awards. These include the 2015 Adisheshaiah Award for her exemplary contributions to the field of social sciences in the country. Additionally, she has also been the recepiet of the International Labour Organization's Decent Work Research Prize for 2011. Not to miss, Jayati Ghish has also won the NordSud Prize for Social Sciences 2010, Italy.


Her writing pieces include various articles and around 20 books based on women, labour, and development economics.


What is the Centre for Policy Research (CPR)? What are its functions? Let’s know here.


Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories