1. Home
  2. |  
  4. |  
  5. CBSE Board |  

CBSE Class 9 Exam Pattern

This artcle provides you the latest examamination pattern for the various subjects of CBSE Class 9. The artcle will make you familiar with the latest format used in CBSE Class 9 Summative Assessment-I & Summative Assessment-II.

Dec 13, 2016 11:05 IST

    CBSE Class 9 Examination forms a sound basis for future Classes. That's why students are advised to be well prepared to take the exams so as to score optimum. Remember, Education is a step by step process in which each year's hard work makes you prepared for the board exams. So never try to neglect any phase of this process as it may affect the higher class's studies.

    Keeping this point in mind, Jagranjosh has prepared this article describing the latest examination pattern used in CBSE Class 9 Summative Assessment-I & Summative Assessment-II.

    Class 9 Exam Pattern

    Class 9 Examination is held in two modes:

    1. Summative Assessment I: It includes Formative Assessment I and II, and its period lies between the months of April and September.
    2. Summative Assessment II: It includes Formative Assessment III and IV, and its period lies between the months of October and March.

    All the Questions Papers framed in both the modes are as per the Blueprint issued by CBSE.

    Compulsory Subjects Covered:

    • Science
    • Mathematics
    • Social Science
    • Hindi
    • English

    Question Paper Details:


    Time Allotted for Examination

    Total no. of Questions

    Maximum Marks

    Individual Sections with Markings


       3 – 3½ hours



    Section A: 75 Marks

    • 3 questions of 1 mark each
    • 3 questions of 2 marks each
    • 12 questions of 3 marks each
    • 6 questions of 5 marks each

    Section B: 15 Marks

    • 9 MCQs of 1 mark each
    • 3 practical based questions of 2 marks each


       3 – 3½ hours



    Section A: 4 Marks

    Section B: 12 Marks

    Section C: 24 Marks

    Section D: 40 Marks

    Section E: 10 Marks

    Social Science

          3 hours



    Section A: 8 Marks

    Section B: 36 Marks

    Section C: 40 Marks

    Section D: 6 Marks (Map)


          3 hours



    Section A: 20 Marks

    Section B: 15 Marks

    Section C: 30 Marks

    Section D: 25 Marks


          3 hours



    Section A - Reading: 20 Marks

    Section B - Writing & Grammer: 25 Marks

    Section C - Literature & Long reading text: 25 Marks

    Apart from the compulsory subjects, the students could also opt for the optional subjects according to their area of interest.

    Previous Article CBSE Class 10 Exam Pattern

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below