Interesting facts about IIT Kharagpur

The following post contains the interesting facts about the IIT Kharagpur.

Updated: Sep 18, 2014 17:21 IST

Interesting facts about IIT Kharagpur:

  • Indian institute of kharagpur was established in 1950 at Hijli. The institute’s journey was started in the old Hijli Detention Camp. With the help of Bidhan Chandra Roy (chief minister of West Bengal), Indian educationalists Humayun Kabir and Jogendra Singh formed a committee in 1946 to consider the creation of higher technical institutions "for post-war industrial development of India." Pandit Nehru laid the foundation of the IIT kharagpur.
  • IIT Kharagpur has the largest campus (2,100 acres), the most departments and the highest student enrolment.
  • IIT Kharagpur receives comparatively more funding than other engineering colleges in India. While the total government funding to most other engineering colleges is around Rs. 100–200 million (US$2–4.5 million) per year, IIT Kharagpur gets nearly Rs. 1,300 million ($30 million) per year.
  • The Nehru Museum of Science and Technology at IIT, Kharagpur, has over a hundred indoor exhibits that include technical models collected from institutions across India. The park outside the museum contains 14 open-air demonstrations and outdoor exhibits, including a hunter plane and a steam engine. The Rural Museum, located in the Rural Development Centre of the institute, has a collection of exhibits of local culture.
  • In 1962, due to the Chinese invasion 3 year B.Tech Programme was started in the IIT kharagpur, in order to produce more engineers during the war.
  • Cryogenic Engineering Centre, the first of its kind was established in IIT kharagpur in 1976. The centre was established & developed on the recommendation of “Nayudumma Committee” for the advancement of Cryogenics and Cryogenic Engineering.
  • More than 30 MOUs are signed Between IIT kharagpur & the Universities of Germany, France, Spain, UK, Australia for Research work and student exchange programs.

Notable Alumni:

  1. Sushanta Kumar Bhattacharyya: Chairman and Founder, Warwick Manufacturing Group.
  2. Kalyan Banerjee: President of Rotary International for 2011–2012.
  3. Chaudhary Ajit Singh: Civil aviation minister of India (From December 2011 to May 2014).
  4. Arvind Kejriwal: Renowned socialist and former Chief Minister of Delhi.
  5. Ashok Khemka: Civil servant in Haryana, India.
  6. Duvvuri Subbarao: 22nd Governor of Reserve Bank of India.
  7. Suhas Patil: Founder of Cirrus Logic.
  8. Arjun Malhotra: Co-founder of HCL Technologies, CEO of Headstrong.
  9. Ajit Jain: President of Berkshire Hathaway's Reinsurance Group.
  10. Arun Sarin: CEO of Vodafone.


Read More....

Interesting facts about IIT Bombay
Interesting facts about IIT Madras
Interesting facts about IIT Kanpur

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash

Related Categories

Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

7 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.