JEE Advanced 2016 is all set with some alterations this year

JEE Advanced 2016 exam has gone through some key changes the students should keep in mind while preparing for the exam.

Created On: Oct 30, 2015 16:56 IST

JEE the Joint Entrance Examination, is an all India common engineering entrance examination which is conducted every year for admissions in various engineering colleges and courses all over the country. In 2012, this common examination was announced by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)  in place of AIEEE.

JEE is bifurcated in two parts: JEE-Main and JEE-Advanced. JEE (Main) is held is for the students who seek for admissions in IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology), NITs (National Institutes of Technology), CFTIs (Central Funded Technical Institute) and IIEST Shibpur. On the other hand,  JEE-Advanced, is conducted for admission in Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), and Indian School of Mines Dhanbad.

This year the students will come across the JEE advanced exam with some alterations. All the changes made, be it in the exam pattern or eligibility criteria, are summed up below which the candidates have to keep in mind to prepare for the success:

Two Papers: This year the JEE (Advanced) will consist of two papers: Paper-1 and Paper-2 both of which are mandatory to be attempted by the candidates in order to qualify the exam.

Two Languages: The candidates are free to choose the medium of question paper to be either English or Hindi as per their convenience.

Two Attempts: The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at JEE Advanced is limited to two and that too in consecutive years. Therefore, only those candidates who passed +2 exam in 2015 or appearing in +2 in 2016 are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2016, i.e., it should be either the candidate's FIRST attempt or the SECOND consecutive attempt.

Foreign Nationals: Foreign nationals, including Person of Indian Origin (PIO) and Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) card holders, are also eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2016 exam.  However the Foreign nationals can’t be considered for the reservation of seats under various categories.

Defence Service (DS): The children of not all defense service personnel are eligible for DS category seats. The DS category seats can only be availed by the children whose parent was killed or permanently disabled in action during war or peacetime operations while in defense/paramilitary service.

Performance in Class 12: In order to secure admission in IITs and ISM, the candidates should either be in category wise top 20 percentile in class 12 or must have scored at least 75 per cent aggregate marks for general and OBC-NCL or 70 per cent aggregate marks for SC, ST and PWD candidates.

Age limit: The date of birth of the candidate should be on or after October 1, 1991, if belonging to the GEN or OBC-NCL category and on or after October 1, 1986, if belonging to the SC, ST or PwD category.

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash

Related Categories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

7 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.