National Means Cum Merit Scholarship 2018

Students applying for NMMS 2018 can check here eligibility criteria, how to apply, selection procedure, exam pattern and other details as mentioned here. The last date of application for NMMS 2018 is October 31, 2018.

NMMS Scholarship 2018
NMMS Scholarship 2018

National Means cum Merit Scholarship Scheme is an initiative by Department of School Education and Literacy for students studying in Class 9th and above. This scheme is aimed to prevent drop outs by students after Class 8th. The NMMS Scholarship can be availed by any student who is continuing education after Class 8th except, students from Navodaya Vidyalaya Schools, Kendriya Vidyalaya Schools, Sainik Schools, and Private schools. Only, students studying in state government, government aided and local body schools can apply for National Means cum Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018. The application form for NMMS 2018 is available in online mode and students can apply before the last date i.e. October 31, 2018. Students will be selected on basis of state level selection test which will be conducted by each State/UT. Before applying for NMMS 2018, check here eligibility criteria, how to apply and other details as mentioned below on this page.

Key features of National Means cum Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018 –

Scholarship level All India level

Official authority Department of School Education and Literacy

Class level Class 9th to Class 12th

Categories – Pre-matric NMMS scholarship for Class 9th and Class 10th students and Post-Matric NMMS scholarship for Class 11th and Class 12th

Selection Criteria – state level examination for selection of students to award NMMS scholarship at state level

Number of Scholarships – 1 lakh scholarships for all states/UTs

Scholarship Amount – Rs. 6000 per annum to each selected student

Official website –

NMMS 2018 Eligibility Criteria –

  • The students must have a minimum of 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class 8th examination for appearing in selection test for award of scholarship (50% for SC/ST category).
  • Also, students must have obtained at  least  55%  marks and 50% for reserved category or  equivalent  grade  in Class  8th examination at the time of  selection  for  the  award  of  scholarship.
  • Students should pass their previous year examination in first attempt only to be eligible for NMMS scholarship.
  • For students who wish to continue NMMS scholarship for Higher Secondary education, they must score at least 60% marks in Class 10th and students belonging to SC/ST/OBC category need to obtain 55% marks.
  • The family income of the student should not be more than Rs. 150000.

How to apply for NMMS 2018?

  1. Visit the official website for National Means cum Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018 i.e.
  2. Click on the Department of School Education and Literacy under Central Scholarship Scheme or go to the direct link provided below.  
  3. For fresh scholarship application, click on new applicant registration, read the instruction and click on continue
  4. Fill basic details like name, category for scholarship, date of birth, e-mail id, valid mobile number, identification details, and bank account details.
  5. Enter the verification code and click on register. A user application id will be generated which can be used to login and complete the application procedure.

Click here for online application link for NMMS scholarship 2018

Click here for NMMS 2018 Guidelines

NMMS 2018 Selection Criteria –

The students will be selected for awarding scholarship after they appear for the state level selection test for their respective state/UTs. The selection criteria for NMMS 2018 includes –

  • Students obtaining merit score and ranking in state level NMMS 2018
  • Students fulfilling the eligibility criteria for NMMS 2018

NMMS 2018 Exam Pattern –

NMMS Scholarship 2018

Click here for complete information on NMMS 2018

NMMS 2018 Cut off Marks –

The students appearing for NMMS selection test will have to score minimum qualifying marks as specified by the exam conducting authority. Students need to obtain cut off marks in both the tests for NMMS scholarship. The cut off marks for NMMS is as under –

NMMS Scholarship 2018

NMMS Cut off Marks 2018


General category

Reserved categories SC/ST/OBC

Mental Ability Test (MAT)



Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)



Related Categories

Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Stories