1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Achal Kumar Jyoti appointed as Election Commissioner

May 8, 2015 14:14 IST

Achal Kumar Jyoti, the former Chief Secretary of Gujarat, on 7 May 2015 was appointed as the Election Commissioner of India. Jyoti (62) will have tenure of nearly three-years, when he will turn 65, the age at which Election Commissioners demit office under the Constitution of India.

His tenure will commence from the day he assumes the charge.

With this, the strength of three-member Election Commission of India has gone up to two. Till this appointment, two posts were vacant in the three-member election commission due to retirement of VS Sampath and HS Brahma.

At present, Nasim Zaidi, the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), is the other member of election commission.

Jyoti is a retired IAS officer of 1975 batch and has worked as the Managing Director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Limited (SSNNL). He also served as Chairman of Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004. He retired from active service in January, 2013.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes43 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Achal Kumar Jyoti , VS Sampath , HS Brahma , Nasim Zaidi , election commission

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK