1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina won the United Nations Champions of the Earth Award 2015

Sep 16, 2015 17:02 IST

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on 14 September 2015 won the United Nations Champions of the Earth Award for Policy Leadership to address the issue of climate change. She was chosen by the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) for this prestigious award.

Sheikh Hasina has demonstrated leadership in making climate change an issue of national priority and advocating for an ambitious global response. UNEP noted that Bangladesh is one of the most vulnerable countries to the impacts of climate change. Cyclones, floods and droughts have long been part of the country's history, but they have intensified in recent years.

However, through a number of forward-looking policy initiatives and investments, Bangladesh has successfully confronted the challenge of climate change at the core of its development. The award cites the progressive Bangladesh Climate Change Strategy and Action Plan of 2009.

This action plan made this South Asian nation the first developing country to frame such a coordinated action plan. Bangladesh is also the first country to set up its own Climate Change Trust Fund, supported by nearly 300 million US dollars of domestic resources from 2009-2012.

Moreover, under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina, the Bangladesh Constitution was amended in 2011 to include a constitutional directive to the State to protect the environment and natural resources for current and future generations.

In addition to Sheikh Hasina, the other winners announced so far are the National Geographic Society (Science and Innovation); Brazilian cosmetics firm Natura (Entrepreneurial Vision); and South Africa’s Black Mamba Anti-Poaching Unit (Inspiration and Action).

About UNEP Champions of the Earth Award
• It is United Nation's top environmental accolade awarded by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
• It recognizes visionary people and organisations all over the world that exemplify leadership and advocate action on sustainable development, climate change and a life of dignity for all.
• The annual award was established in 2004.
• The awards are conferred in four categories- Policy Leadership, Entrepreneurial Vision, Inspiration and Action and Science and Innovation.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK