Eight sports persons get Padma Shri

Jan 27, 2017 08:34 IST

The Government of India on 25 January 2017 announced the Padma Awards 2017.

Padma Awards are conferred in three categories: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The Awards are given in various fields of activities, for example art, social work, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, public affairs, and so on.

Top 300 CA eBook

In the list of awardees, eight eminent sports personalities of India received the Padma Shri Awards. These sports persons are:



Virat Kohli


Shekar Naik


Vikasa Gowda

Sports-Discus Throw

Deepa Malik


Mariyappan Thangavelu


Dipa Karmakar


P R Shreejesh


Sakshi Malik


To view the complete list of 2017 Padma Awardees, click here

About Padma Shri Awards

Padma Shri is India’s fourth highest civilian award, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan.

The awards are announced every year on Republic Day of the country.

Padma Awards were instituted in 1954 to be awarded to citizens of India in recognition of their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity.

However, some distinguished individuals who were not citizens of India have also been honoured with the award. It was because of their contribution in various ways to India.

As of 2017, 2913 people have received the Padma Shri.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes27 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Padma Shri , Padma Awards , Sports Personality , Virat Kohli

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK