ICC World Cup 2019: These teams have never won the world cup title!

Check out the list of some of the strongest cricket teams, which have never won the Cricket World Cup.

Created On: May 30, 2019 12:16 IST
ICC World Cup 2019: These teams have never won the world cup title
ICC World Cup 2019: These teams have never won the world cup title

Among the participating nations in ICC World Cup 2019, Australia has won the World Cup title five times, the highest of all, followed by India and West Indies that have won it twice each and then Pakistan and Sri Lanka once each.

The shocking fact, however, is that some of the big teams in cricket, which have been consistent in their performance so far, even in the world cups, have never won the World Cup title.

ICC World Cup 2019: Full match schedule, venue details, match timings, team squad and team rankings

These three top-ranked teams have never won the Cricket World Cup!

1. England

England, the inventors of cricket, have shockingly never won the World Cup. The team has made 11 appearances in the tournament and hosted the first three world cups. The best performance by England at the cricket world cup has been when they reached the finals in 1979, 1987 and 1992 world cup editions and ended up being the runners-up. In 2015, the team was eliminated in the group stage itself.

However, England currently leads the ICC ODI Team Rankings table and is pegged to be one of the favourites to win the title. The team is also the host of the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

2. South Africa

South Africa, due to the country’s apartheid policy in the 1960s, was banned by the ICC from major tournaments, which kept the team out of the first four world cups. The ban remained in place till 1991 and was lifted thereafter, enabling the team to make its World Cup debut in the 1992 edition of the tournament.

The team nicknamed the Proteas, however, has a record of failing to win major tournaments despite being one of the strongest sides and having some of the world’s best players. In its debut world cup, the team reached till the semi-finals and due to delay caused by rain, the team went from needing 22 runs off 13 balls to a situation where it needed 22 runs of one ball.  

Despite being one of the title favourites in each of the world cup editions, the team failed to qualify beyond the semi-final stage. South Africa’s best performance at cricket world cup has been reaching the semi-finals in 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2015. The team is currently ranked third in the latest ICC ODI Team Rankings.

3. New Zealand

The New Zealand cricket team, also known as the Black Caps, made its debut in the cricket world cup in the tournament’s first edition in 1975. The team, again, known to be one of the strongest cricketing sides, has never won the cricket world cup. New Zealand’s best performance at the cricket world cup has been reaching the finals in the 2015 edition where it ended up being the runners-up. Before that, the team has played six semi-finals, in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011 respectively, all for the losing cause.

Besides these three teams, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Kenya, Canada, Ireland, Bermuda, Afghanistan, UAE and Scotland have also never won the ICC Cricket World Cup. The team is currently ranked fourth in the latest ICC ODI Team Rankings.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

ICC Player Rankings 2019: India’s Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah top rankings list

Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is an international tournament of One Day International cricket, which was first organized by the International Cricket Council in June 1975. Since then, the event has been organized by the ICC after every four years.

The first three World Cups were held in England. It was from 1987 that the hosting of the tournament was shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one match in the tournament.

The highest-ranked teams receive automatic qualification to the World Cup, while the remaining teams are determined through the World Cup qualifier rounds.

A total of twenty teams have competed in the eleven editions of the tournament, with fourteen competing in the 2015 edition.

The 2019 edition of the World Cup has only 10 participating teams. Among them, Australia has won the World Cup title five times, India and West Indies twice each and Pakistan and Sri Lanka once each.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

1 + 6 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all