1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav felicitated with Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards

Aug 13, 2014 11:11 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee on 12 August 2014 conferred the Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards on Arun Jaitley, Dr Karan Singh and Sharad Yadav. The awards were given for their invaluable contribution in discharge of their parliamentary duties. The awards were given at Balyogi Auditorium in Parliament Library, New Delhi.

• BJP leader Arun Jaitley received the award for the year 2010
• Congress Veteran Karan Singh received the award for the year 2011
• JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav received the award for the year for 2012

President while conferring the awards asked all Parliamentarians to uphold the prestige and dignity of Parliament, as it’s a responsibility of every Parliamentarian.

About Outstanding Parliamentarian Award

The Outstanding Parliamentarian Award was instituted in 1992 by Shivraj Patil who was then the Speaker of Lok Sabha from 1991-96. The award is given by the Indian Parliamentary Group to an outstanding sitting Member of the Indian Parliament for overall contribution in Indian Parliament.

Previous important Parliamentarians to be awarded include

• Indrajit Gupta was honoured with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award in 1992
• Atal Bihari Vajpayee was honoured with the award in 1994
• Pranab Mukherjee r was honoured with the award in 1997
• Lal Krishna Advani was honoured with the award in 1999
• Manmohan Singh was honoured with the award in 2002
• Sushma Swaraj was honoured with the award in 2004
• P Chidambaram was honored with the award in 2005
• Murli Manohar Joshi was honoured with the award in 2009

Is this article important for exams ? Yes71 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK