Jnanpith award 2013 conferred on Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh

President conferred the Jnanpith Award 2013 on eminent Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh for his outstanding contribution towards Indian literature.

Created On: Nov 11, 2014 09:09 ISTModified On: Nov 11, 2014 17:26 IST

Jnanpith AwardPresident Pranab Mukherjee on 10 November 2014 conferred the 49th Jnanpith Award on eminent Hindi poet Kedarnath Singh at a function at Balyogi Auditorium, Parliament Library Building in New Delhi.

Kedarnath Singh was conferred with the country's highest literary award for his outstanding contribution towards Indian literature. As a poet, he has offered a rare assimilation of rhymes and lyrical prose, exploring both the realms of reality and fantasy with equal felicity. His poetry presents a collage of meaning, colours and acceptance.

He is the 10th Hindi writer to receive the award. Other Hindi writers to be conferred with the prestigious award includes
• Sumitra Nandan Pant (1968 for Chidambara)
• Ramdhari Singh Dinkar (1972 for Urvashi)
• Sachidananda Vatsyayan (1978 for Kitni Navon Men Kitni Bar)
• Mahadevi Varma (1982 for Yama)
• Naresh Mehta (1992)
• Niirmal Verma (1999)
• Kunwar Narayan (2005)
• Amar Kant (2009)
• Sri Lal Sukla (2009)

Prior to 1982, the awards were given for a single work by a writer; since then, the award has been given for a lifetime contribution to Indian literature.

About Kedarnath Singh
• Singh is a celebrated teacher who has taught at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU)
• Kedarnath Singh (80-year-old) was born in Balia of Uttar Pradesh and is known for his work Abhi bilkul abhi and Yahan se dekho
• He became famous with a book entitled teesra saptak edited by Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan whose pen name was Agyeya

About Jnanpith Award
The Jnanpith award was institutionalised by philanthropist couple Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain and Late Rama Jain to recognise and award Indian authors for their contribution to Indian literature.

The award is given to any Indian citizen who writes in any official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India. It is presented by Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family. The award includes 11 lakh rupees and a citation.

The name of award is taken from Sanskrit words, Jnana and Pitha (knowledge-seat). The first Jnanpith Award was given in the year 1965 and the first recipient was G Sankara Kurup for his work Odakkuzhal (Flute) in Malyalam language.  In 2012, the award was conferred on a Telugu writer Ravuri Bharadhwaja.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 2 =